Second Offense DUI Attorney in New Jersey
DUI Second Offense penalties in NJ, as serious as they are become even more-over. Your DUI is considered a second offense when occurring within 10 years of your first offense. This makes you eligible to receive the minimum to maximum penalties associated with the charge.
Second offense charges in New Jersey are taken much more seriously than a first offense DWI. There is little room for a judge’s own discretion to determine your penalties.
2nd offense DUI’s carry a guaranteed license suspension for one to two years. The penalties continue to increase depending on how high your BAC reading was at the time of the accusation.
2nd Degree DUI Charge Penalties and Fines
The following penalties apply to a second-offense DUI in NJ.
- A fine of $500 – $1000
- Imprisonment of at least 48 consecutive hours, and up to 90 days
- 2-year license suspension
- 48 consecutive hours detainment in a regional intoxicated driver resource center
- An automobile insurance surcharge of $1000 a year for 3 years.
- Installation of an ignition interlock device for a period of 1 year to 3 years after license restoration.
These penalties do not include other costs associated with court fees, and state assessments. Nor do they include installation and removal of the interlock device and other fees.
Fortunately, Anthony J Vecchio has been handling cases, including first and second offense DUI’s in NJ just like this for over a Decade all over the state. He has the experience to build a successful defense against your case. This can hopefully allow for the most favorable outcome for your unique situation.
Contact Anthony today for a free consultation about your second offense DUI charges in NJ. As with all serious convictions, time is of the essence. The sooner we can begin coordinating your defense the more time we will have to gather the information we need for a strong defense.