Penalties of A First Offense DUI In NJ

New Jersey is aggressively prosecuting those charged with a first offense DUI in NJ, but there is still hope to build a strong defense to help eliminate the long-term impact on your driving and criminal records.

If you’ve been arrested for drunk driving immediately seek legal advice from the Law Offices of Anthony J. Vecchio.  As a former prosecutor, Anthony has the experience necessary to identify the weakest points in the opposing case and create a defense to have your charges dismissed.

First Offense DUI NJ Penalties and Fines 

New Jersey’s penalties for DUI convictions steadily increase based on the severity of the violation and for each subsequent offense.  Penalties can vary between lengthy jail sentences, license suspension, probation, excess fines or a variation of multiple charges.

The disadvantage you have when fighting a DUI case is the fact that in New Jersey you will not have the right to a trial by jury to hear your case.  You see, in New Jersey DUI chargers are classified as Motor Vehicle Violations only, and not criminal cases.  So, while this minimizes the long-term effect on your criminal record, it also makes it a little more difficult to try your case without the help of an experienced criminal attorney.

If you’ve been accused of a DUI, I encourage you to learn more about your options by exploring my resources page.  Here you’ll find all of the information you need for your charges pursuant under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.  Anthony has handled many cases throughout the state including Middlesex County, Jackson TWP, Linden, Union Twp., and Jersey City.

1st Time DUI Penalties BAC 0.08% – 0.09%

In New Jersey if you are operating a vehicle and your Blood Alcohol Concentration level is over .08% as tested by an Alco test machine, you can be convicted of driving under the influence.  Even if your BAC is under 0.08% you run the risk of being convicted if an officer finds your driving to be impaired in any way.

For your first offense of a drunk driving charge, the penalties are:

  • A fine of $250-$400
  • Imprisonment for up to 30 days
  • An automobile surcharge of $1000 a year for 3 years.
  • A minimum of two 6-hour days in an intoxicated resource center.

1st Offense Penalties for Driving While Intoxicated 0.10% or Higher

DUI or DWI charges can be pressed even if you are under the influence of other drugs like narcotics, hallucinogenic or any other habit producing drugs.  However, if you are convicted with a BAC over the limit of .10% the penalties for your first offense are as follows:

  • A fine of $300-$500
  • Imprisonment for up to 30 days
  • A license suspension between 7 months and 1 year
  • A minimum of two 6-hour days in an intoxicated resource center.
  • An automobile insurance surcharge of $1000 per year for 3 years.

1st Offense Penalties BAC 0.15% or Higher

It is at this limit that you will be required under law to install an ignition interlock device in any vehicle of which you are the principle operator.  This requirement may remain throughout the entire license suspension period and for a period of up to 6 months or 1 year after your driving rights have been restored.